Roxx Life

Architecture in Amsterdam. The EYE

In my last post, I mentioned that I went to the green ocean to see the SAIL, right? Well, if you read my last post, you’d already know that I didn’t get the chance to see the SAIL and just went crossing the sea with the ferry without even stepping out of the ferry.

Note: I’ve added a couple of pictures on my last post. Check it out, after reading this one! šŸ˜‰

However, before I got to the ferry going to the green ocean, I went across the nearest island and found thisĀ modernist-architecture building called the EYE Film Institute. It is a film museum with 4 cinemas inside it. Find out more here.

SONY DSC

I don’t know much about architecture but I always have a penchant for geometric lines and weird shapes in mostly everything. So when I saw this building, I was a little drawn to it. I didn’t get a good picture of this entire building though, so you just have to bear with these pictures that I have. Haha!

Anyway, when I looked closely at the building, I noticed that part of the buildingĀ shape looks like the head of a snake. Also, the body of the building was made to look like snake skin. Isn’t it? Or is it just my imagination? Hmmm…. Well, overall, I kinda dig this building since Amsterdam doesn’t have that many modern buildings and I think that it is a good thing that they built this building across the ocean so it can be another attraction other than the city central.

SONY DSC

The above picture shows the side of the building that looks very serene and calm. I especially loved the pathway that bridges the ocean and the island. I think it’s a great walking path for people to leisure walk there. Of course, I went on this pathway because we thought we could get to the green ocean side through this way. BUT, how naive we were! My friends and I, we, had to go back to the ferry stop and had to go across the ocean again to then go to the other ferry stop to take another ferry in order to get to the green ocean faster. TT

Moving on…

This is the other side of the building. Just like most of the Netherlands’ architecture feature, this building also adopts the concept of open interior, meaning that people from outside can see what’s going on inside the building. I guess this side is used as an office space, which is kind of intriguing and peeked my curiousity a little bit. I would love to try working there once, just to see if I enjoyed it or not. But with the green-grass landscape as my view, I’d probably sleep more than working. šŸ˜‰

Now this is the below part of the head. I love the fact that this building has a great structure to be able to be shaped like this. I mean, knowing the history of Netherlands, the land here is totally man-made and most of it is below sea-level, so… I’m just amazed at how they can put up building like the EYEĀ and get away with it. Interesting subject for architecture students, huh?

To sum it all up, I HAVE to visit this museum one day and see the interior and the contents of the museum. You should visit too whenever you’re in Amsterdam, or if you’re planning to come to Amsterdam, make this as part of your stops. I cannot say anything about the inside for now but for those architecture enthusiasts, this is a great piece for your eyes. Excuse the pun! Haha!

Alright! Till next post!

Ciao,

ddneroxx.

Leave a Reply

