Pescatarian Life

Roxipe. Vegetarian Pasta Sauce

Recently, I’ve started living on my own in another city of another country. If you read my posts, you’d probably know already. ūüėČ

Anyway, since I have to really live on a tight budget, I have to skip eating out entirely – well, probably once or twice, or thrice, a month would be okay-ish. So, the only thing I have to do is cook my own meals. And the great thing about where I’m currently staying right now is that I have a good, working kitchen! Major plus!

Being pescetarian here in Amsterdam is not a hard thing to do. Fruits and vegetables are so easy to get and places nearby my house¬†literally have¬†almost anything I need, except for some Indonesian spices and stuff. I need to find them ASAP though. But, aside from that, I guess I’m eating healthy here and start to lean towards becoming a vegetarian instead. Although, I managed to buy a packet of smoked salmon the other day and I was so happy about that!

Now, I want to share with you my recipe for a vegetarian pasta sauce, which I just made and turned out VERY delicious! That’s why I put it here. ;))

Here goes the recipe. Serves 5-6 meals.

Ingredients:

1 red onion, diced or finely chopped

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 yellow bell pepper, diced

1 tomato, diced

1 courgette (zucchini), diced unpeeled (with the skin, and just make sure you wash it cleanly.)

1 bottle of passata (700 ml)

1/4 cup of meltable, grated cheese (I used Kaas Geraspt 48+, jong belegen – got it in Dirk van den Broek supermarket)

2-3 tbsp dried basil

1 heap tbsp unsalted butter

(less-sodium) salt and pepper to taste

sugar (optional)

How to:

  1. In a stainless steel pot and medium-high heat, put in the butter and let it melt for a while. Then throw in the chopped garlic and onion into the pot, and sauté them for a few minutes until the onions caramelised a little and a bit translucent.
  2. Put in the diced vegetables: courgette first, bell pepper next, and tomato last. Combined everything together and let them sweat for approximately 3-5 minutes until they look softer.
  3. Next, pour in the passata into the pot. Mixed the leftover passata inside the bottle with 100ml of water and pour the passata water into the pot. This is to thin down the sauce a little bit and why waste the leftover?
  4. Throw in the salt and pepper, according to your taste, and then throw in the dried basil into the pot. Mix for a minute.
  5. Taste the sauce! (Important!) If the sauce is too sour for you, add a pinch or two of sugar. Skip the sugar if it tastes good already. At this point, don’t add more salt but add 1/4 cup of the grated cheese!
  6. Turn the heat down into medium-low heat and simmer the sauce for 10-20 minutes. It will thicken and it might get more salty.
  7. Taste the sauce again before you remove the pot from the heat. If the taste is to your liking, then by all means remove it from the heat.
  8. Cook any pasta you like, pour the sauce on top of your pasta, and sprinkle some of that delectable grated cheese on top of the sauce.
  9. Enjoy!

WP_20150903_16_25_33_Pro copy

I enjoyed this recipe very much, partly because I cooked it myself, but I can guarantee the taste. I finished the whole plate and would love to lick the plate clean but… manner told me not to! So, try this recipe if you like. I’m sure there are similar recipes out there but this is the Roxx version!! Haha!

Anyway, enjoy your meal and till next post!

Ciao,

ddneroxx.

Leave a Reply

