Pescatarian Life

Roxipe. Baked Tilapia with Garlic-Butter Broccoli

Despite my self-taught cooking skill, I understand how spices work and what ingredients that fit well with each other. Watching a lot of cooking shows in YouTube also helps a LOT! Well, that and the fact that I used to eat good foods growing up. And since I find cooking a bit of a hassle if I do it all the time, I only cook whenever I need warm food or when I only need to. So, on a daily basis, I would live on my make-ahead meals that I freeze up beforehand or just the simplest ones like fried eggs or noodles (not instant noodles though! I will share this later on my next, next post).

And so I make this!

 

WP_20160122_19_09_57_Pro copy

This recipe has got to be one of my all time favourite foods I’ve ever made. It’s easy to make and it involves fish and broccoli, which are two of my all time favourite ingredients. I have to say, this is so simple yet so delicious! I could never be tired of this food, ever, no matter how many times I eat it! Although, I only make this whenever I need a ‘fancy’ meal, so not that often. Maybe, once or twice a month. (I’m on a budget!) Hahaha..

Anyway, since I like this recipe so much, I would like to share it with you. Here is how I make it.

 

WP_20160122_19_10_09_Pro copy

Ingredients. Baked Tilapia

Prep time. 8 minutes | Cooking time. 10-15 minutes | Serving. 1 person

  • 1 piece (150gr) frozen tilapia fillet (you can use any fresh fish fillet)
  • 1/2 tsp salt; or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp white or black pepper; or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper; or to taste
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 sheet of aluminum foil (adjust it to the fish size or around A4 size paper)

How.

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C or around 400 degrees F
  2. Thaw the fish fillet (if you use frozen) until half-thawed, or use the defrost setting on your microwave for 3-5 minutes.
  3. Prepare the aluminum foil sheet, divide it into half without cutting it (just to determine the half), and place the fish on either side of the foil half. aluminum foil fold
  4. Spice up the fillet! Both side! Sprinkle the salt and pepper and the cayenne pepper on the fillet and rub on the olive oil last, just so it won’t stick to the foil while being baked.
  5. Fold the free foil half covering the fish, and fold the three open sides (dotted lines on  the picture above) to prevent heat of the oven from going in. This is to make sure the fish stays moist, and of course, to minimize messy bits in your oven; makes cleaning so much easier!
  6. Then, put the foil inside the preheated oven and leave it for 12 to 15 minutes, if you’re using frozen, and 10 to 12 minutes, if you’re using fresh.
  7. Take out the foil from the oven and be very careful when opening the folded foil sides because very hot steam will come out! So, open a small opening first or you can cut through the foil, and let the steam out for a couple of minutes before serving.
  8. Put the fish on your plate and enjoy

While waiting on the fish baked in the oven, you can start making the broccoli, which is very easy.

 

WP_20160122_19_10_04_Pro copy

Ingredients. Garlic-Butter Broccoli

Prep time. 5 minutes (or so) | Cooking time. 8 minutes | Serving. 1 person

  • 1/2 medium-sized broccoli, cut into florets, and don’t forget to include the stem because lots of vitamin are residing in it!
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, minced (the amount totally depends on your preference, if you like it to be more garlicky then add some more, but don’t go overboard because too much garlic can make it bitter)
  • 50 gram unsalted butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

How.

  1. First, steam the broccoli florets for 4-5 minutes, or until you can poke through it easily. Make sure you keep an eye on these broccoli florets because you have to keep them all green and luscious. (Personally, I like my broccoli to still have some bite to it, maybe in a 1/4-raw state, or it’ll become too sweet for me)
  2. Take out the broccoli from steamer and shock them with a shower of cold water or a bath of ice water.
  3. On a medium-high heated pan, melt the butter and sautee the minced garlic in the butter until you can smell the aromatic combination between the two together.
  4. Do not let the garlic burn! (Important!)
  5. Throw in the broccoli florets into the garlic butter mixture and coat them evenly.
  6. Add salt and pepper according to your preference
  7. Sautee for 1 minute and serve it right away

Easy and delicious, right? The fish is smooth and flaky and moist with a little kick of spiciness from the cayenne pepper, while the broccoli is sweet, savoury, buttery, and garlicky. And although I used frozen fish, the taste was great nonetheless. I had no complaints whatsoever since the combination of the two is so amazing, despite its simplicity. And writing this now makes me want to eat it even more!

If you don’t like broccoli, I would think this recipe can make you think twice about it. I hope so! Because there is so much goodness inside those green florets (and stem) that are good for your body and health. And the fish contains protein, for an 85gr tilapia fillet the protein is around 17gr according to HealthAliciousNess.com. So, it is a healthy and fulfilling recipe, and pescetarian friendly!

I hope you give this a try and perhaps add some of your twist in it. ;))

So, till next post!

Ciao,

.ddneroxx.

Leave a Reply

