Pesce to Vege

Vegetarian Take-Outs! Part 1

For the past 10 months of being a vegetarian, I realized that the options for food take-outs became limited as most of the options here in Jakarta are meat-based meals. There are, of course, quite a few numbers of vegetarian restaurants here. But, a lot of them offer higher prices than regular meals. I’m definitely not going to point fingers, but that’s the reality I’ve discovered since becoming vegetarian. 

Fortunately, I lived in the west area of Jakarta and I’ve got, not one, but TWO vegetarian restaurants that I love! One is called RM Vegetarian Kharisma in Palmerah area. The other one is Love World Vegetarian in South Grogol area. 

Despite both being the same vegetarian restaurants, and despite they do have a few similar menu items, they do have different style. But first, let me talk about RM Vegetarian Kharisma.

RM Vegetarian Kharisma

Usually I would go for their set rice menu, either the red rice set or the Hainan rice set. They also have the regular rice set, but I prefer the red or Hainan. My go-to sets would be the number 2 and 5, sometimes 3 or 4. I often go for these set rice menus because they are quite affordable, taste good, and abundantly filled, meaning they’re not stingy with the food. One set rice has 3 different toppings and I dare say, each topping compliments each other in every set rice, so I’m always pleased with whatever I end up choosing. 

Here are the set rice menus, though you can always browse on your Grab or Gojek app:

Set 1    >> Rice (white/red/Hainan) with mixed stir-fry veggies (capcay), tempe in sweet soy sauce, and fried mushrooms.

Set 2    >> Rice (white/red/Hainan) with any stir-fry veggies, vegetarian meat satay, and potato in balado sauce.

Set 3    >> Rice (white/red/Hainan) with stir-fry chayote and mushroom, Sambalado egg (spicy egg), and gohiong. 

Set 4    >> Rice (white/red/Hainan) with stir-fry bean sprouts, fried vegetarian meat in oyster sauce, and tempe in sweet soy sauce.

Set 5    >> Rice (white/red/Hainan) with stir-fry green beans, egg Fuyunghai, and crispy mushrooms.

The prices are differentiated by the rice. For white rice set, the set costs IDR 18,000. For red and/or Hainan rice set, the set costs IDR 19,000

Aside from these set rice, I often go for their other menus as additionals to my set. Usually, I would choose the extra satay or any of their vegetarian meat options; the vegetarian sambal terasi; crispy mushrooms; crispy mushrooms in balado sauce; and a few of their veggie dishes. They’re pretty good. Although, I have to say that some of their fried stuff like the corn fritters (bakwan jagung), stuffed tofu (tahu isi), and the veggie fritters (bakwan sayur) were a bit salty and too oily for me. 

OH! I do have a recent favourite, which is the fried beancurd (kembang tahu goreng)! It tasted like those crispy KFC chicken skins! Very nice! 

Also, do bear in mind that they have alternate menus throughout the days of the week. So, if you want something specific, please check their day availability that they have written in the menu list. For example, they have Nasi Padang set that’s only available on Tuesdays, and Nasi Kuning set on Sundays. And yes, I have tried both of these sets and I have to say, I like them. 

For this restaurant, I used Grab app mostly. They do offer great discounts here; one of the reasons why I love buying from here! Currently they offer 45% discount (HEMAT45G), or IDR 10,000 off the delivery fee, or IDR 5,000 off the delivery fee (ONGKIRHEMAT2). This information is true as of today, Wednesday, October 28, 2020. 

So, if you’re a vegetarian (or not), who live nearby Palmerah area, I would recommend getting your food here. But again, taste is preferential. For me personally, they taste pretty good and flavourful. I have been buying here since the beginning of this year until now. So I guess that’s saying something. 🙂

They open daily from 8AM to 9PM! Very convenient and soo helpful because they also open on holidays (most holidays though, you still need to check)!

Anyway, let me know if you do try it! 

Expect the Love World Vegetarian in Part 2! 😉

Anomalous contemporaire

Peace,

d

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.